BusinessGreen Leaders Awards 2015 - Shortlist announced

BusinessGreen staff

Have you made the cut for the most competitive BusinessGreen Leaders Awards yet?

BusinessGreen is today announcing the shortlist for the BusinessGreen Leaders Awards 2015, the largest and most prestigious green business awards in the UK.

This year saw a record number of entries submitted for the awards, with around 300 applications for the shortlist considered. The quality of the entries was hugely impressive, with every category proving highly competitive.

Attention now turns to the awards ceremony on Wednesday July 1st, supported by lead sponsor AECOM. Shortlisted firms have until June 3rd to confirm their place at the glittering Awards night.

For information on how to book your table at the awards, please visit the BusinessGreen Leaders Awards website or contact Matthew Oliver at [email protected]

Law firm of the year
Ashfords LLP
Asserson Law Offices

Green IT project of the year
Capgemini UK - The Environment Agency Outsourcing Contract
Karlson and BPP - print management and waste reduction initiative
Secure I.T. Environments Ltd - Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust data centre project
Sudlows - data centre design and build

Green PR firm of the year
Edelman London
Greenhouse PR
Long Run Works
Prova PR

NGO of the year
Advanced Propulsion Centre
Aldersgate Group
Environmental Investigation Agency (EIA)

Consultancy of the Year
Earth Security Group
Useful Simple Projects

Waste and Recycling Project of the Year
Closed Loop Environmental Solutions (CLES) and Simply Waste Solutions - Simply Cups recycling initiative
Chinook Sciences Ltd - Oldbury End Stage Recycling Plant
Desso - Upcycled re-engineered calcium carbonate project
Samworth Brothers Ltd - The Route to Zero project
The Green Academy - Westfield Europe zero waste initiative
University of Brighton - Food waste reduction initiative
Waste King Ltd - Hyde Park Barracks project

Renewable Energy Project of the Year
Bernard Matthews - Big Green Plan
Clearfleau - Nestlé onsite AD Plant
EvoEnergy - 20 Fenchurch Street, ‘Walkie Talkie' solar array
GENeco - Biogas-to-grid project
Kingspan - Environmental Portadown solar rooftop array
Lark Energy - Ketton Solar Farm
National Trust - Plas Newydd Marine Source Heat Pump
Solarcentury and Primrose Solar - Southwick Solar Farm
Trillion Fund - E5 Energy

Energy Efficiency Project of the Year
ABP UK - ABP Ellesmere Development
Bupa - Energy Saver Fund
Energy Saving Trust - Ready for Retrofit campaign
L'Oreal Professional Products and Green Tomato Energy Ltd - Sustainable Salons initiative
National Car Parks and Future Energy Solutions - Energy Saving Project
University of Brighton - Sports Pavilion Waste Water Heat Recovery project

Employee Engagement Campaign of the Year
Affinity Sutton, 20/20 campaign
Capita Health Partners and Sussex Community NHS Trust - Care Without Carbon campaign
Coventry City Council - Think Low Carbon campaign
Ferrier Pearce Creative Group - ZeroWaste Challenge
IKEA UK&IE - Ambassador's programme
The Fresh Olive Company - Ready, Steady, Green initiative
The Jockey Club - Going Green programme
Willmott Dixon - Re-Thinking campaign

Marketing/Advertising Campaign of the Year
Alliance Trust - Sustainable investment campaign
Hubbub UK - From a Mother To Another campaign
Solarcentury - The London Solar Story campaign
Thames Tideway Tunnel - You Poo Too campaign
The Carbon Trust - ESOS: Beyond Compliance campaign
GENeco - Bio-bus campaign

Green Car of the Year
Audi A3 e-tron
BMW i8
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

Sustainability Executive of the Year
Andy Griffiths, Nestle UK&I
Gareth Rice, O2
Paul Southall, National Trust
Simon Graham, Commercial

Young Sustainability Executive of the Year
David Blake, Allen & York
David Hill, Open Energi
Emma Strong, UK Green Investment Bank plc
Hannah Greenaway, O2 (Telefónica UK)
Hiten Sonpal, Lombard
Megan Smith, The Carbon Trust

Sustainability Team of the Year
Accor - Sustainability Team
BRE Group - S Plan team
Bristol City Council - Energy Team
Bupa - 20% by 2015 Network
National Trust - Wales Sustainability Team
O2 - Think Big Blueprint Team
RBS - Sustainable Energy Forum Team
UK Green Investment Bank - Green Team

Fast Track Company of the Year
Endurance Wind Power Inc.
Hanergy Thin Film Solar UK
Lark Energy
Novalux Energy Solutions Ltd
Wild About Roofs

Entrepreneur of the Year
Andrew Wordsworth, Sustainable Venture Development Partners
Sarah Chapman, Iwana Energy
Silvio Spiess, Innasol Ltd
Professor Toby Peters, Dearman
Trewin Restorick, Hubbub Foundation UK
Warren Bader, Plan Bee Ltd

Small Business of the Year
Clayworks Ltd
Innasol Ltd
Joule Assets
Open Energi
Osprey Consulting Services

Politician of the Year
To be announced on the night

Innovation of the Year
AkzoNobel - Performance Coatings
Alevo - GridBank battery
Desolenator - Water purification system
Jaguar Land Rover - BikeSense system
Newlight Technologies - AirCarbon
Novozymes - Eversa enzymatic biodiesel
NPL, In2Tec and GEM - ERICE, Electronics Recycling In a Circular Economy
Pavegen Systems - Pavegen tile
The Solar Cloth Company - Tensile photovoltaics
Toshiba -e-STUDIO306LP/ RD30 erasable printing system

Leader of the Year
Bill Eyres, O2 UK
Marcela Navarro, RBS
Robert Trezona, IP Group

Lifetime Achievement Award
To be announced on the night

Company of the Year
Good Energy
Nationwide Building Society
Nestlé UK&I
TUI Group

More on Management

Dates confirmed for Net Zero Festival 2023

Dates confirmed for Net Zero Festival 2023

The fourth annual Net Zero Festival will take place at the Business Design Centre on October 31st and November 1st this year

James Murray
clock 09 March 2023 • 2 min read
Sir James Bevan | Credit:

How to get an organisation to net zero: Lessons I've learned at the Environment Agency

Environment Agency chief executive Sir James Bevan's speech to business leaders at Chapter Zero summit, in which he shares lessons and insight to help organisations progress toward net zero

Sir James Bevan, Environment Agency
clock 28 February 2023 • 16 min read
UK Green Business Awards: Deadline extended

UK Green Business Awards: Deadline extended

Deadline for entries to the inaugural UK Green Business Awards extended by one week to Friday March 3rd

BusinessGreen staff
clock 24 February 2023 • 1 min read