BusinessGreen Leaders Awards 2014 - Shortlist Announced

James Murray

Check out all the green business leaders in the running for the UK's most prestigious environmental awards

The BusinessGreen Leaders Awards have already enjoyed a record year, with nearly 300 entries submitted for consideration ahead of this July's Awards.

Today the shortlist for the annual awards is announced, and every category is proving more competitive than ever. Tickets and sponsorship packages for the glamorous awards ceremony on the evening of Wednesday July 2nd at The Brewery in central London go on sale from today. The event is likely to be close to full capacity, so shortlisted companies are advised to book early to avoid disappointment.

To book your ticket please contact Matthew Oliver on 02073169794 or [email protected].

We have also announced the addition of one final category - the BusinessGreen Leaders Champion of the Year Award for the individual who has done the most to advance the cause of the green economy.

Below is the full list of shortlisted companies, NGOs, projects and individuals. Good luck to all the BusinessGreen Leaders of 2014.

Consultancy of the Year

Gensol Consultants
Greengage Environmental LLP
K2 Management

Law Firm of the Year

DLA Piper
King & Wood Mallesons SJ Berwin
Pinsent Masons
Simmons & Simmons
Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP

NGO of the Year

Carbon War Room
Friends of the Earth
Green Alliance
The Generation Foundation
UK Green Building Council

Sustainability Team of the Year

Brookfield Multiplex Construction Europe, Safety, Health, Environment and Quality Department
Midcounties Co-operative, Sustainability Team
IKEA Sustainability Team
Interface, Scherpenzeel Engineering Team
PwC UK Sustainability Team
RBS Sustainable Energy Team
URS, Strategic Sustainability and Climate Change Team
Willmott Dixon, Re-Thinking Team

Young Sustainability Executive of the Year

Abena Poku-Awuah, Sustainability Manager, Family Mosaic
Alex Willey, Asset Strategy Manager, Affinity Sutton
Ben Goldsmith, Founder Partner and Head of Sales and Marketing, WHEB Group
Claire Baker, Sustainability Solutions Manager, Costain
Estee Chaikin, Head of Sales and Marketing, Hanergy UK
Laura Spiers, Group Sustainability Manager, Interserve Plc
Dr Lisa Clark, Manager, Sheffield Solar Project, University of Sheffield
Louise Needham, Sustainability Officer, Quorn Foods

Sustainability Executive of the Year

James Robey, Global Vice President of Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, Capgemini
Ramon Arratia, Sustainability Director, Interface
Richard Gotheridge, Environment and Sustainability Manager, Arriva Trains Wales
Steven Heath, Director Public Affairs and Strategy, Knauf Insulation
Tracey Rawling Church, Head of CSR, KYOCERA
Dr Eva Gkenakou, UK Sustainability Manager, Brookfield Multiplex Construction Europe
Toby Robins, Sustainable Development Director, Wiles Greenworld

Green Car of the Year Award

BMW i3
Lexus IS 300h
Tesla Model S
Volkswagen e-Up
Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid EV

Green PR Company of the Year

Forster Communications
Greenhouse PR
Hill+Knowlton Strategies
Life Size Media
Maitland Political
MHP Communications

Green IT Project of the Year

Lloyds Banking Group, 1E NightWatchman power-saving deployment
MicroPro, iameco development
O2, [email protected] initiative
QinetiQ, Synthetic Training initiative
Sudlows and University of Portsmouth, green data centre
TelecityGroup, Energy Management Programme
Tulip Ltd, Ricoh Managed Print Service
University of Sheffield, Sheffield Solar Microgen Database

Waste or Recycling Project of the Year

Coca-Cola Enterprises, Engaging Consumers in Sustainability initiative
GD Environmental Services, Towards Zero Waste Strategy
O2, Charger out of the box initiative
Tesco, Food Waste Strategy

Water Project of the Year

Heineken, SmartDispense
Pharmafilter, Pharmafilter System
Prana Sustainable Water, Ethical Water Exchange
Trevi Systems, Forward Osmosis Technology

Renewable Energy Project of the Year

Abundance Generation and REG Windpower, REG High Down Project
Hanergy Solar UK, IKEA Residential Solar Product Launch
Jaguar Land Rover and Kingspan Energy, Solar PV Installation
Lark Energy, Wymeswold Solar Project
Larkfleet Group, Solar Steam Installation
National Trust Wales, Hafod y Llan Fit for the Future Project
Star Refrigeration, Drammen District Heating Project
The Resilience Centre, Community Energy Initiative

Transport Project of the Year

Clean Air Power (CAP), Dual-Fuel system
The Co-operative Group, Logistics Carbon Reduction Programme
The South Downs National Park Authority and Forster Communications, Discover Another Way campaign

Energy Efficiency Project of the Year

Carbon Trust, Cut Costs and Carbon Calculator
Élan Hair Design, Green Refurbishment Project
Global Action Plan and Barts Health NHS Trust, Operation TLC
Lumicity, Bernard Matthews Biomass Boiler Rollout
Open Technology and South West Trains, Network Rail Alliance, Lighting Control Project
P3P Partners, CHP Installation
Saint-Gobain, Whole House Retrofit Project
SC Johnson, Europlant Factory Energy Strategy
URS, Brent Civic Centre

Fast-track Company of the Year

Abundance Generation
Endurance Wind Power
Enphase Energy
Scene Consulting

Small Business of the Year

Green Energy UK Direct
KLH Sustainability
Phoenix Green Energy
Plan Bee Ltd
The Green Recruitment Company
Wild About Roofs

Entrepreneur of the Year

Alan King, Syntegra Consulting
Alisa and Emma Murphy, Life Size Media
Julia Groves, Trillion Fund
Mads Jensen, Sefaira
Mark Sait, SaveMoneyCutCarbon
Paul Brown, Calista Group

Innovation of the Year

Biome Bioplastics, Coffee Pod
E.ON and Opower, Saving Energy Toolkit
Green Deal Finance Company
Newlight Technologies, Carbon-Negative Plastic
LAUNCH Program and Network
Open Energi, Dynamic Demand
The Chopping Company, Chop-Cloc
Velopost, Fossil Fuel Free postal service
Xeros, Bead Cleaning System

Politician of the Year - to be announced on the night

Leader of the Year

Alexander Collot d'Escury, Desso
David Williams, Eco2
Ian Burrow, Natwest/RBS
James Thornton, ClientEarth
Jeremy Leggett, Solarcentury
Malcolm Preston, PwC
Simon Birkett, Clean Air in London
Trewin Restorick, CEO Global Action Plan

Lifetime Achievement Award - To be announced on the night

Company of the Year

Abundance Generation
BRE Group
Knauf Insulation

Champion of the Year - To be announced on the night

More on Management

Credit: Shutterstock

Courage: The vital aspect of sustainability leadership we don't talk about enough

We need a different kind of leadership - one that makes a positive contribution that counts today and lasts into the future

Christina Raab,
clock 03 February 2023 • 5 min read
Global Briefing: Danske Bank calls time on new fossil fuel financing

Global Briefing: Danske Bank calls time on new fossil fuel financing

Danske Bank adopts new fossil fuel finance policy, the UAE hails SAF progress, and Boston Metal celebrates green steel investment

BusinessGreen staff
clock 27 January 2023 • 8 min read
Credit: iStock

BSI unveils new standard for establishing corporate 'purpose beyond profit'

Standards body unveils polling indicating consumers are more willing to spend money with purpose-driven businesses

Michael Holder
clock 27 January 2023 • 3 min read